Celtic Ogham Stones

I want to introduce this set of ancient stones, and tell a bit about their background.

Lilith's Den - Ogham Stones

I have to admit, that I myself never heard about Ogham before Bou told me about it.
It was him who asked me if I would like to make some standing stones, because he wanted to teach people in Second Life about this old Celtic alphabet on his own sim.
Above that he thought that I should sell them to tell even more people about the Ogham.
I wanted! And I learned a lot during making them.

Wikipedia says:

Ogham (/ˈɒɡəm/[1]; Modern Irish [ˈoːmˠ] or [ˈoːəmˠ]; Old Irish: ogam [ˈɔɣamˠ]) is an Early Medieval alphabet used to write the early Irish language (in the “orthodox” inscriptions, 1st to 6th centuries AD), and later the Old Irish language (scholastic ogham, 6th to 9th centuries). There are roughly 400 surviving orthodox inscriptions on stone monuments throughout Ireland and western Britain; the bulk of which are in southern Munster.[2] The largest number outside Ireland are in Pembrokeshire, Wales.[3]

The vast majority of the inscriptions consist of personal names.

According to the High Medieval Bríatharogam, names of various trees can be ascribed to individual letters.

The letters consist of several short and long carved cuts, read differently depending on the direction they take. Written over a corner seam of a rock, they are to read from bottom left to bottom right. or …from bottom left to top.

Bou wrote the related spiritual information notecards to be put into the stones, and asked me to make the seven main stones for his learning path that way, that they whisper  knowledge and give a notecard. Sadly he left SL for good and sadly I cannot provide a SLURL to a place in SL with a spiritual lead like the kind and wise Bou – If anyone knows about such a place, please shoot me the Landmark so I can send interested people in the right direction.

Thus, if you want to learn more about the Ogham, for now, I have to ask you to refer to google search. One result I found and used for my studies during the making is this : http://www.omniglot.com/writing/ogham.htm

About The Making:
I had the choice to simply  paint the Ogham on the texture or go for a realistic cutting in the mesh. I found it would not really fit to show the carving  in a simple texture and decided for the harder, long way. And rewardingly , the outcome looks way more realistic.
Only on the bowl I went with the texture version because with the many words Bou wanted there on the seam it was near impossible to squeeze all the cuts in and have the letters still readable.

Available !
Now the best of it.
I am introducing this set during World Tour 2017 gridwide Hunt, starting 21th of march , running throughout April. For ..fasten seat belts please… 2 L$
If that is no bargain, I don’t know, what is!

Later on they will be on regular sale, for , you guess it, way more L$.
This being said, what ever the price, with this set you do have something unique in Second Life ( until we find copycats! ) and thanks to me making the stones modify and adding 2 different sorts of scripts, you can modify the stones secrets to your liking. Thinkable for example in Medieval Fantasy / Celtic Roleplay or Celtic sims as marker stones on a spiritual path.

Side Note
The following earlier releases are related to the project and are with matching textures.
I just seem to have waited for the right opportunity to release the Standing Stones as well, and the World Tour Hunt with the path ” Europe” is finally the perfect occasion.

LD Celtic Cross
Lilith's Den - Inverdur -  Celtic Ogham Elements Stone

Merken

Merken

About Runa The Wild Elf

Wild Elf, nut addict, sleepless, silly
This entry was posted in Blogger Entry, Lilith's Den, Misc and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

